The Naked Swiss || Les nus Suisses

For all of you expecting pictures of naked Swiss people, I am sad to say that there will be no such pictures in this post. It is actually a book that I asked for from Father Christmas and as luck would have it, I had been a particularly good by last year so I received it. I actually discovered the book through the magic of wordpress. The author is Clare O’Dea, who is from Ireland originally, and her blog can be found here https://clareodea.com.

The book is about common stereotypes of Swiss people from an outsider’s perspective and looking at them in an objective way to see how much truth is in them. The are 10 chapters that cover the following subjects:

  • The Swiss are Swiss
  • The Swiss are rich
  • The Swiss are xenophobic
  • The Swiss are brilliant
  • The Swiss are sexist
  • The Swiss are neutral
  • The Swiss helped the Nazis
  • The Swiss are boring
  • The Swiss are crooked bankers
  • The Swiss have the world’s best democracy

As a relative newcomer to Switzerland (1-2 years on/off) I found it really interesting to hear the thoughts of another non-Swiss person living here (although I think Clare now has Swiss citizenship, which as explained in the book, is no mean feat – congratulations if this has happened). The book was informative, interesting and funny. If you’re also a non-Swiss living in Switzerland I strongly recommend that you read it! I think mine was from Payot but it’s available on amazon too – http://amzn.to/2rdEqdt

If you have read the book let me know what you thought or if you have any other recommendations on Swiss life please let me know!

||

Pour tout le monde qui cherche pour les images des les suisse nus, j’ai besoin d’informer qu’il n’y a pas ces photos ici. C’est actuellement un livre que j’ai demandé du père Noël et depuis j’avais été un très bon garçon l’année dernière, je l’ai reçu. J’ai découvrir le livre par le magique de wordpress. L’écrivaine est Calre O’Dea, qui est d’Irlande initialement et son blog est ici https://clareodea.com

Le livre parle des stéréotypes répandus des Suisses de la perspective d’un étranger et regardé eux en un façon objective pour voir combien de la vérité est en eux. Il y a 10 chapitres que couvrir les sujets suit :

  • Les Suisses sont Suisses
  • Les Suisses sont riches
  • Les Suisses sont xenophobes
  • Les Suisses sont magnifique
  • Les Suisses sont sexiste
  • Les Suisses sont neutres
  • Les Suisses ont aidé les Nazis
  • Les Suisses sont ennuyeux
  • Les Suisses sont des banquiers malhonnêtes
  • Les Suisses ont la meilleure démocratie dans tout le monde

Comme je suis un nouveau venue en Suisse (1-2 ans) je l’ai trouvé très intéressant pour entendre les idées d’une autre non-Swiss qui habite ici (bien que je pense Clare est une citoyenne Suisse maintenant alors félicitations, que c’était expliqué dans le livre – ce n’est pas facile). Le livre est informatif, intéressant et amusant. Si vous êtes aussi un non-Swiss qui habite en Suisse je recommande forcement que vous le lisez ! Je pense que le mien est de Payot mais c’est aussi disponible d’Amazon aussi –  http://amzn.to/2rdEqdt

Si vous avez lu le livre dis-moi qu’est-ce que vous pensiez ou si vous avez un autre recommandation sur la vie Suisse dis moi !

Leave a Reply

