Stromae Glob || Glob de Stromae

No it’s not a typo, I just made up a new verlan word (see later). This post is about a Belgian artist called Stromae, that I properly discovered around 2 years ago. By discovered I don’t mean discovered and made a star, but I downloaded his albums and watched his music videos. Before I had only heard of his hit ‘Alors On Danse’ which was quite famous in the UK but is probably one of my least liked songs of his. First of all for those who didn’t know some people in Belgium speak French, Stromae is one of those people. Stromae’s real name is Paul Van Haver, but his name has an interesting origin. So in French there is a slang used called Verlan, which switches halves of words around, some common ones they use are Do’mac and meuf, these are actually the only ones I know, can you guess what they are? So Do’mac is MacDo, pronounced mack-dough (Mcdonalds) and meuf is femme (woman). Verlan is actually one as well, it is l’envers which means inverse, which is what verlan is. I think this slang is really cool, but according to Olivia its only for teenagers and is no longer cool, but I may still use it anyway. I guess it’s similar to cockney rhyming slang. Did you know slang is also slang for short language? Anyway, have you worked out the origin of Stromae? It’s maestro. Which I thought was pretty clever. In preparation for this post I went on his website and found that it is moseart.com, which is also cool.

His music is a mixture of house/dance/rap/pop it is really hard to pin him down to a category. His chef-d’oeuvre (masterpiece) in my eyes is his second album, Racine Carrée (Square Root). I like all the songs on the album, but I think my favourites are ‘Papaoutai?’, which comes from Papa où t’es? meaning where are you father?, ‘Formidable’ (Wonderful) and ‘Sommeil’. All the lyrics have very powerful meanings, and it seems to come across even if you don’t speak French. I think one of these days I will try and translate a song by ear; no doubt I will butcher it. His songs are filled with an energy and excitement that you can’t help but tap to. As well as meaningful lyrics he also does interesting videos that you should check out on youtube. My favourite is the video of formidable where he pretends to be drunk at a metro stop in Belgium. They are all worth a listen and watch on youtube if you haven’t already, you will not regret it!

Stromae-Papaoutai.jpg
Papaoutai Cover || Le couverture de Papaoutai

Listening to French music I feel helps you have French in the brain and helps pronunciation when you are singing along. Most French speaking people I have met like Stromae, but I have struggled to find any other French artist I enjoy as much, other than the odd song. There are some old songs I like listening to as well, but I couldn’t listen to them all the time. If anyone has any suggestions for similar artists or artists they think I would like, I am all ears!

||

Non ce n’est pas une faute de frappe, j’ai inventé un nouveau mot verlan (voire plus tard). Ce poste est à propos d’un artiste Belge qui s’appelle Stromae et que j’ai vraiment découvert il y a 2 ans. Par j’ai découvert je ne veux pas dire que je l’ai découvert et en ai fait un étoile, mais j’ai téléchargé ses albums et regardé ses clips. Avant ça, j’avais seulement écouté son succès «Alors On Danse», qui était célèbre dans le Royaume-Uni mais c’est probablement la chanson que j’aime le moins. Premièrement pour les gens qui ne savent pas, quelques personnes en Belgique parlent français, Stromae est une de ces personnes. Le vrai nom de Stromae est Paul Van Haver, mais son nom de scène a une origine intéressante. Alors en français il y a un argot que les adolescents utilisent, il s’appelle verlan, et change l’ordre du mot à l’envers, les mots fréquents qu’ils utilisent sont Do’mac et meuf, ceux-ci sont les seuls mots que je connais, est-ce que tu devines le sens ? Alors do’mac est McDonalds et meuf est femme. Verlan est un aussi, c’est l’envers ! Je pense que cet argot est tellement cool, mais selon Olivia c’est seulement pour les adolescents et n’est plus cool, mais je l’utilise quand même. Je crois qu’il est similaire au cockney rhyming slang. Est-ce que vous savez que slang est court pour short language ? Bref, est-ce que vous avez deviné l’origine de Stromae ? C’est maestro. J’ai pensé que c’était tellement intelligent. En préparation pour ce poste je suis allé sur son site et j’ai trouvé qu’il est moseart.com, incroyable !

Sa musique est un mélange de house/danse/rap/pop c’est tellement difficile à catégoriser. Son chef-d’œuvre pour moi est son deuxième album, Racine Carrée. J’aime toutes les chansons sur l’album, mais mes préférées sont « Papoutai ? », qui vient de Papa où t’es ?, « Formidable » et « Sommeil ». Toutes les paroles ont une puissante signification et il semble que le message est compréhensible même si vous ne parlez pas français. Je pense qu’un de ces jours je vais traduire une chanson à l’oreille ; mais probablement je vais la massacrer. Ses chansons sont remplies d’énergie et d’excitation que vous ne pouvez pas résister à danser. En plus des paroles significatives il a aussi des clips très intéressants, que vous pouvez voir sur youtube. Mon clip préféré est la vidéo de Formidable, où il fait semblant d’être bourré à un arrêt de métro en Belgique. Elles méritent toutes une écoute et une vue sur youtube si vous n’avez pas encore, vous n’allez pas le regretter !

Quand j’écoute de la musique française je pense que j’ai le français dans le cerveau et ça m’aide avec la prononciation quand je chante avec la chanson. La plupart des gens francophones que j’ai rencontré aiment Stromae, mais j’étais en difficile à trouver un autre artiste français que j’aime autant que Stromae, à part une ou deux chansons. Il y a des chansons vieilles que j’aime, mais je ne pourrai pas les écouter tout le temps. Si quelqu’un a des suggestions pour un artiste français qu’il pense que je pourrais aimer, je suis tout ouïe !

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Monika says:

    Interesting post! 😀 I’m going to check out his second album.

    I’m not sure if it’s your taste, but you might like Stress, a Swiss rapper. This song was a hit ages ago: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LivrlU_bmm0 I really like the message of this song 🙂

    have a lovely week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Just listened to the song, not sure I am a fan, I still need practice listening to French I think – thanks for the suggestion though!

      What did you think of Stromae?

      Like

  2. Verlan, Stromae, and “Papaoutai…” some of my favorite things!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Caroline says:

    J’adore Stromae!!! I saw him live in concert just over a year ago and he was incredible! A true artist. He has so many great songs but when Carmen came out I instantly fell in love… definitely one of my favorites!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In very jealous, I think he announced recently he is not singing anymore… missed my chance I guess

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

